About UPSC Civil Services Exam

 Civil Services constitute the backbone of our administrative governance machinery. The power, prestige and challenge associated with top jobs like IAS, IFS, IPS, etc motivates youngsters to choose Civil services as a career option. The Civil Services Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) every year to recruit officers in the top posts or services in Government. These services are as under:  

1.    Indian Administrative Service.

2.    Indian Foreign Service.

3.    Indian Police Service

4.    Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax)

5.    Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise)

6.    Indian Audit and Accounts Service

7.    Indian Civil Accounts Service

8.    Indian Railway Traffic Service.

9.    Indian Railway Accounts Service

10.  Indian Railway Personnel Service

11.  Indian Defense Accounts Service

12.  Indian Ordnance Factories Service

13.  Indian Postal Service

14.  Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service.

15.  Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force

16.  Indian Defense Estates Service

17.  Indian Information Service

18.  Indian Trade Service

19.  Indian Corporate Law Service

20.  Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service

21.  Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service

22.  Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service

23.  Pondicherry Civil Service

24.  Pondicherry Police Service.


Reservations are made for candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Other Backward Classes, EWS and Physically disabled categories as per the rules.

Eligibility Conditions

I. Educational Qualification

Any person who has completed degree or possesses an equivalent qualification is eligible to appear in the exam. No minimum percentage or grade of marks either at degree level or at school level is prescribed in order to being eligible to appear in the exam. The final year appearing candidates in the graduation are eligible to appear in the exam.

II. Age Limits

A candidate must fall within the age group of 21 to 32 years, i.e. he/she must have completed 21 years of age and should not have crossed 32 years as on the specified date in the notification.
The upper age limit is, however, relaxed as under
5 years in case of candidate belonging to SC/ST.
3 years in the case of candidate belonging to OBC.
10 years in the case of physically handicapped candidates.

 III. Number of attempts

General candidate: 6 attempts.
OBC (non creamy layer) candidate: 9 attempts.
SC/ST candidates: No restriction on the number of attempts.
Physically handicapped candidates belonging to General Category: 9 attempts.

Note: An attempt at the Preliminary Examination is counted an attempt at the Examination.

Structure of the Exam

UPSC Civil Services Examination is a multi-stage exam conducted in 3 consecutive stages, namely, Preliminary Examination, Main Examination, and Interview or Personality test.

Preliminary Examination 

The Preliminary is an Objective Type Exam (MCQ) consisting of two papers: 

General Studies (Paper I) 

Civil Service Aptitude Test (Paper II)

Main Examination

The candidates who qualify the Preliminary Examination are permitted to write the next stage of the examination, i.e. Main Exam.  This is the descriptive type (written) Exam consisting of merit and qualifying papers. 

For Syllabus of UPSC Civil Service Exam Click here

 Interview / Personality Test

The candidates achieving the cut-off marks or above as fixed by UPSC at the main level qualify for Interview. Finally, the selection list is prepared to fill the vacancies and final results are published. The marks obtained at the Main level and in the Interview are aggregated to determine the ranks and service.

The UPSC Civil Services Exam intends to assess the intellectual traits and depth of understanding of the candidates rather than merely memory and range of information.